#### **Agency details**

Agency number: 28

Agency title: Faculty of Science (1)

*Start date:* 1950

**End date:** 1997

Creation: Council meeting 8th May, 1950 (resolution 54)

**Abolition:** Council meeting 2nd December, 1996 (resolution CL96/88/4)

Administrative history

note:

The Faculty of Science was established as one of the first three faculties of the University at the Council meeting on 8th May, 1950 (resolution 54). Professor John Philip Baxter became the Dean of the new Faculty, which initially contained three Schools - Applied Chemistry, Applied Physics and Chemical Engineering. At the 2nd December, 1996 meeting of Council the Faculty of Science was disestablished effective 1st July, 1997 (resolution CL96/88/4).

The Deans of the Faculty of Science were:

1950 - 1953 - John Philip Baxter 1953 - 1956 - Albert Earnest Alexander 1956 - 1959 - Christopher John Milner 1959 - 1962 - John Faithful Clark

1962 - 1968 - Bernhard John Frederick Ralph

1968 - 1969 - David Paver Mellor

1970 - 1979 - Stephen John Charles Angyal 1980 - 1989 - Viliam Teodor Buchwald

1989 - 1992 - Gavin Brown 1992 - 1995 - Ardon Robin Hyland 1995 - 1996 - James Floyd Scott

1996 - 1997 (Acting) - Colin Eric Sutherland

Unregistered preceding agencies:

Unregistered succeeding agencies:

Superior agencies:		Period of relationship	
47	Professorial Board	1950 - 1988	
2	Academic Board	1988 - 1997	

## Unregistered superior agencies:

Subordin	Subordinate agencies: Period of relationsh		
250	Department (1949 - 51) / School of Chemical Engineering (1) (1951 - 1979)	1950 - 1956	
251	Department (1949 - 51) / School of Applied Chemistry (1951 - 1957) / Chemistry (	1950 - 1997	
252	Department (1949 - 51) / School of Applied Physics (1951 - 60) / Physics (1960 -	1950 - 1997	
257	Department (1949 - 51) / School of Mathematics (1951 - 2006) / Mathematics & St	1951 - 1997	
268	School of Wool Technology (1951 - 1967) / Wool & Pastoral Sciences (1967 - 198	1951 - 1956	
272	School of Metallurgy (1952 - 1985) / Materials Science & Engineering (1986 - )	1952 - 1956	
281	School of Applied Psychology (1954 - 1972) / Psychology (1972 - )	1954 - 1956	

#### **UNSW University Archives**

### Agency details

271	School of Textile Technology	1955 - 1956
412	School of Biological Sciences	1956 - 1968
281	School of Applied Psychology (1954 - 1972) / Psychology (1972 - )	1959 - 1968
384	School of Applied Physics & Optometry	1968 - 1976
415	School of Optometry (1977 - 2001) / Optometry & Vision Science (2001 - )	1977 - 1997
131	Ad Hoc Committee of the Faculty of Science to Consider the School Government P	1977 - 1977
466	Centre for Waste Management	1986 - 1990
468	Centre for Industrial Laser Applications	1986 - 1992
503	Institute of Marine Sciences (1968 - 1986) / Centre for Marine Science (1986 - 199	1986 - 1997
386	Centre for Chemical Analysis	1987 - 1997
495	Centre for Membrane and Separation Technology (1987 - 1992) / UNESCO Centre	1987 - 1997
417	Centre for Advanced Numerical Computation in Engineering & Science (CANCES	1992 - 1997
551	Centre for Chemosensory Research (CCR)	1997 - 1997

# Unregistered subordinate agencies:

Record series created by this agency (in chronological order by start date):		Date range of creation	
418	Student Projects in Physical Sciences	-	
404	Booklet Leaflet Collection of the Faculty of Science (1) (1950 - 1997) / Facof Science (2) (2001 - )	culty 1950 - 1997	
17	Minutes, Agendas & Papers of the Faculty, Executive Committee & Higher Degree Committee of the Faculty of Science	r 1950 - 1997	
491	Handbooks of the Faculty of Science (1960 - 1968) / Faculties of Biologica Science and Science (1969 - 1975) / Sciences (1976 - 1991) / Science (1992) (1993)		